Sure, though rolling the dice is always subject to chance.
If you do prioritize “re-roll” in your lucky feat (not every DM may) then you just keep rerolling until the luckiest time possible or some other lucky event happens. However, there’s no guarantee that any one of those times will give a better result than before, but it still might give some good news!
The following rule should clarify your question: “If a player, in the same turn, casts a spell or makes an attack action that is augmented by a random property and would have hit someone if not for their Luck save, the die from the Random Property table is rolled again to determine if the original effect will now work.” (5th Edition Player’s Handbook p.239)
You may re-roll an attack action that was augmented by a random property once per turn with luck. This means you can’t re-roll it twice in one turn. For example, if you attacked as normal but didn’t do any damage because of their high AC – as long as they failed their look save – then you cannot re-roll it in order to get lucky enough to hit them. But if you had equally high AC and rolled a critical fail, you can re-roll it once in order to damage your enemy.
If the die was already used in the attack roll, then re-rolling will not change anything. You may want to use one of the options provided by the re-roll and ignore the roll.
If you spend a lucky point in response to a natural 1 or natural 20, then you may reroll the attack at disadvantage. You can do this additional time per day for every 5 Fighter level (minimum of once). However, if your DM tells you that spending too much luck is cheating and can only reroll on a 2+, I guess that’s how it goes! But go ahead and use one of your daggers from your _______ back-up weapon slot to cheat some more and add an extra D6 worth of damage when given advantage with disadvantage on the attack roll (if that’s not completely unbalancing)! Ok Gennifer? Cool beans.
Technically speaking, if you have any intent to attack your opponent, yes. D&D 5E is built on the idea that a player can always try for as many rolls as they need before something succeeds or fails. It enshrines rolling into the concept of gameplay. Use the attack roll process described in chapter 27 of Xanathar’s Guide to Everything for more information about what to do once you succeed with an attack roll and one or more damage rolls.
A reroll on attack automatically does not take into account what the DM deems is “good luck”.
A good rule of thumb when you want a lucky roll to do something really good is to have it be harder than any other roll in the game. For example, an 11-15 dice type with a natural 20 being considered full success; or -6 as opposed to -2 on a d20; more successes needed for lesser tasks. But if rolling an attack and getting above 15 makes it hard enough already, just use advantage.
No. Lucky will never re-roll a dice that has already been rolled, but it can give you the ability to keep trying after a failed attempt – for instance if you fail an attack because the enemy is immune to your weaponry and roll a seven on a d20, then lucky will allow you to try again with different equipment or special actions on your turn. It also gives bonuses against powerful enemies such as bosses or dragons by giving up some of their attacks.
I’m not sure. I know you can use the Lucky feat to reroll a saving throw, but I’m not sure if it can be used for attacks or for other kinds of rolls. The general rule seems to be that if the word “save” appears somewhere in the rules, then you can use Lucky; otherwise, you cannot.
No, you cannot reroll the attack with lucky.
Instead, you can use Extraordinary Luck and spend a luck point to take an extra attack or two.
If your attacks are always critical strikes on the first try but more often than not they miss, there might be something wrong with your statistics system. For example: if you have an AC of 15 but HPx4 as opposed to just HP x5 then higher numbers will need to automatically roll that quadratic equation from your weapons damage (whatever it may be) and subtract that number from 15 instead of just adding them = their usual calculation which may not work in this case since they’re now dealing less damage than expected due to needing four dice rolls for success rather than just one.
Rerolling is not quite the same as a refresh, because it can be done only once per short rest, and rerolls also include the disadvantage penalty. Despite this limitation, rerolling an attack with a lucky feat is allowed in D&D 5E.
Re-rolling may seem unfair to some players, which is why in D&D 4e you saved any lucky dice until the end of combat (when all attacks would have been attempted) and then rolled them together. However, since D&D 5E has changed to allow a certain number of actions or spells per turn that there’s no longer the need for such a tactic- though if you want to ensure fairness for your game you could still use it in that way.